Databases & Digital Resources

Texas Law Help logo

Forms & More: Texas Law Help

Free legal information and sample, fill-in-the-blank style forms for low-income Texans. Links to article, websites, and forms are organized by topic, ranging from Divorce to Eviction to Civil Rights on the homepage. This site also includes a calendar of Legal Advice Clinics and Hotlines.

View Resource
Fort Bend image

Fort Bend County Info Index Search

Searchable database containing official Fort Bend County public and court records.

View Resource
Gale Legal Forms logo

Gale Legal Forms Library

This database has an extensive collection of free forms available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms are already available, and more are being added daily. Official, state-specific, Federal, business, personal, real estate, and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues are included.
Warning: Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters. This resource is not a replacement for the advice of an attorney. Library staff cannot give legal advice or recommend specific forms.

View Resource
HeinOnline database 2

Gun Regulation and Legislation in America

Available in-library only. This new HeinOnline collection brings together more than 500 titles dealing with this difficult and important topic. Included are periodicals, key compiled federal legislative histories, relevant congressional hearings, CRS Reports, Supreme Court briefs, and more. Gun regulation in the United States is arguably among the most controversial and heavily-debated topics in American history. The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution states: A well regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free state, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed. To access this service, please visit your local branch library and click the "view resource" button below on a library computer. 

View Resource
HeinOnline logo

HeinOnline

AVAILABLE ONLY AT LAW LIBRARY 
More than 120 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Visit the library for access to the Law Journal library, Code of Federal Regulations, Federal Register Library, U.S. Code, Congressional and Presidential Documents, Session Law, and more.

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO) logo

Legal Information Reference Center (EBSCO)

Legal Information Reference Center offers everyday users the necessary tools and detailed how-to instructions covering a wide-range of legal issues. A majority of the full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation’s oldest and most respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses. With the Legal Forms by U.S. State feature, users can search state-specific legal forms by top subject areas including adoption, bankruptcy, name changes and more.

View Resource
Lexis Advance Logo

Lexis Advance 

AVAILABLE ONLY AT LAW LIBRARY 
A simple-to-use, powerful resource for online legal research. Visit the library for access to State and Federal case law, statutes, codes, regulations, forms, and secondary material.

LexisNexis

LexisNexis Digital Library

Access Lexis Advance collections digitally on any device using your permanent Fort Bend County Libraries card (eCard not accepted). From within the library, link from eBooks to cases or statutes on Lexis Advance. Annotate and highlight within your eBook.

View Resource
HeinOnline Slavery Database

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law

Available in-library only. This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Case coverage extends into the 20th century because long after slavery ended courts were still resolving issues emanating from slavery. To access this service, please visit your local branch library and click the "view resource" button below on a library computer.

 

View Resource
Texas Statutes icon

Texas Constitution and Statutes

Searchable and browseable database of all the Texas Constitution, all 27 Texas codes, and other statutes from the Texas Legislature.

View Resource
Texas Court Help logo

Texas Court Help

Videos containing basic information about navigating the Texas courts system.

View Resource
Texas Judicial Branch banner

Texas Courts Online

Portal for information and resources concerning Texas courts.

View Resource
Westlaw Logo

Westlaw

AVAILABLE ONLY AT LAW LIBRARY
Westlaw is one of the primary online legal research services for lawyers and legal professionals in the United States. Visit the library for access to State and Federal case law, statutes, codes, regulations, forms, and secondary material.