Alert

All libraries will resume their normal hours of operation on Monday, July 15, with the exception of the Fulshear Branch, which remains temporarily closed.

Databases

Limit by Subject
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W
Gale Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile (Gale)

Texshare logo

Easily search over 17,000 publications from scholarly journals and other authoritative sources covering biology, chemistry, criminal justice, economics, environmental sciences, history, marketing, political sciences, and psychology. Access articles from Nature, the Economist, the New York Times, and thousands of podcasts and transcripts from NPR and CNN as well as videos from BBC Worldwide Learning.

 

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
Access Video logo

Access Video on Demand

Access Video On Demand offers unlimited, simultaneous access to more than 40,000 full-length videos.  Exclusive, high-interest videos from top producers including A&E, BBC Learning, PBS, National Geographic, ABC News, NBC News, CNBC, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, HBO® Documentary Films, Bill Moyers, Rick Steves, Globe Trekker, Julia Child, Open University, Annenberg Learner, TED, Films for the Humanities & Sciences, and many more. 

Learn how to create a user profile here.  By creating an account, users can create playlists, add favorites, and more

View a short video about this resource here.

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

 

View Resource
Just for Kids Access Video logo

Access Video: Just for Kids

The Just for Kids Streaming Collection for public libraries gives children—and their parents—a thoroughly kid-safe, advertisement-free media platform they can freely explore and enjoy. Just for Kids has the educational videos children want to watch—Sesame Street, The Electric Company, The Wubbulous World of Dr. Seuss, The Berenstain Bears, Franklin, and thousands more—plus songs, games, and other interactives that are sure to entertain, educate, and inspire young patrons.

Learn how to create a user profile here.  By creating an account, users can create playlists, add favorites, and more

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
African-American History logo

African-American History (Infobase)

Covering more than 500 years of the African-American experience, African-American History offers a fresh way to explore the full spectrum of African-American history and culture. Users can start their investigation of a topic with a video or slideshow overview, use the key content called out on the home page to find an entryway into the database, or dig deep into a subject or era through the Topic Centers. Read about key figures and events, examine famous speeches and other primary sources, and get context from the in-depth timelines.

View a short video about this resource here

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
American Archive of Public Broadcasting

American Archive of Public Broadcasting

The collection of 40,000 hours contains thousands of high quality programs that have had national impact compiled and is a collaboration between the Library of Congress and GBH.  The vast majority of this initial American Archive content, however, consists of regional and local programs that document American communities during the last half of the twentieth century and the first decade of the twenty-first. This extraordinary collection includes local news and public affairs programs, local history productions that document the heritage of local communities, and programs dealing with education, environmental issues, music, art, literature, dance, poetry, religion, and even filmmaking on a local level.

View Resource
Logo of the American History from Infobase database.

American History (Infobase)

American History is a comprehensive resource that spans our nation’s history, with a user-friendly interface and award-winning content. The home page offers many ways to begin exploring the material, from videos, slideshow overviews, and Topic Centers to lists of key content handpicked by our editors to help users find a starting point for their research. By providing the most comprehensive range of information in one complete resource—subject entries, biographies, primary sources, videos and slideshows, images, timelines, and maps and graphs, plus full cross-searchability across all the Infobase history databases—American History offers a virtual library of American history for educators, students, and researchers.

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
NewsBank logo

America’s News from NewsBank

Current news stories and historical articles from America's News and newspapers from around the world. Resources include the Houston Chronicle and collected Special Reports on current events.

View Resource
Ancestry Library Edition logo

Ancestry Library Edition (ProQuest)

Available in-library only. Covers more than two billion names throughout the various databases collection, which includes US Data Collection and Census Collection (U.S. birth, marriage, death collection, World War I Draft Registration, Social Security Death Index, Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930), UK and Ireland Collection, Immigration Collection (New York Passenger List, San Francisco Passenger List, New York Petitions for Naturalization Index) and more.

To access this service, please visit your local branch library and click the "view resource" button below on a library computer.

 

View Resource
Logo of the Ancient and Medieval History database from Infobase.

Ancient and Medieval History (Infobase)

Ancient and Medieval History provides thorough coverage of world history from prehistory through the mid-1500s, with special Topic Centers on key eras, civilizations, and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. Each civilization’s history is brought to life through tablet/mobile-friendly videos and slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, suggested readings, and suggested search terms. All the Infobase history databases in a collection are fully cross-searchable.

Not in Library: Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
Two overlapping triangles, with the url "AssistedLiving.org" to the right.

AssistedLiving.org

AssistedLiving.org is dedicated to providing information about assisted living facilities throughout the United States. The site also has resource guides on health and other related topics, and reviews of independent living products for seniors. You can search the assisted living facility database by state or major city for more information about each facility. (Click here for facilities in Texas.)

View Resource
AuthorAlerts

Author Alerts

Sign up to receive either email or text notifications when new titles are added to the collection by your favorite authors, actors, and film studios. 

For a brief video tutorial, click here.

View Resource