Cooling Center Locations

The following libraries will be OPEN as cooling centers Monday through Thursday (10 am-6 pm), and Friday & Saturday (10 am-5 pm): 
Albert George Branch (Needville)
First Colony Branch
George Memorial Library (Richmond)
Mamie George Branch (Stafford)
Mission Bend Branch
University Branch (Sugar Land)

All other libraries will remain CLOSED at this time. Click here for Disaster-Recovery Information.

Databases

Limit by Subject
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W
learning express

LearningExpress (Career Center Plus)

Texshare logo

Explore potential careers (including military service), build workplace skills, and prepare for the ACT® WorkKeys® Assessments, the ASVAB test, the TOEIC® test and career licensure exams.

View Resource
Learning Express Library logo

LearningExpress Library (Adult Core Skills)

Texshare logo

Visit the Adult Core Skills section and click on "Become a U.S. Citizen" or the "Recursos para Hispanohablantes" for help in Spanish.
Not in Library: To sign up, click on "Register," then complete the registration form. 

View Resource
LEL logo

LearningExpress Library (Computer Skills Center)

Texshare logo

The LearningExpress Computer Skills Center offers dynamic online multimedia tutorials that help users learn the fundamentals of the computer, the internet, and popular software applications. Self-paced tutorials include Microsoft Office tools such as Excel, Outlook, PowerPoint, and Word, as well as Computer Graphics/Illustration and Understanding Your Operating System.
Not in Library: To sign up, click on "Register," then enter your FBCL library card number to proceed to the registration page.

View Resource
Learning Express Library logo

LearningExpress Library (Practice Tests)

Texshare logo

LearningExpress Library is an easy-to-use e-learning platform featuring online tutorials, practice tests, and e-books to help you achieve your educational and professional goals. In addition to helping you improve your skills in reading, writing, math, and basic science, LearningExpress Library offers tools and resources to help you search for jobs, build workplace skills, and prepare for career certification exams. You'll also find college and grad school admissions test prep, GED® test prep, and much more.

View a short video about this resource here

Not in Library: To sign up, click on "Register," then complete the registration form.

View Resource
eFILE Texas

Legal Filing online: eFILE Texas Self Help

File your legal paperwork online using this free tool.

View Resource
FBC County Clerk

Legal Forms: COUNTY CLERK Forms Library for Fort Bend County

Select from legal forms using this free forms library from the Fort Bend County County Clerk's Office, including Birth & Death, Marriage, DBA, Brands, Official Public Records and Civil, Juvenile, Misdemeanor and Probate Court.

View Resource
FBC District Clerk

Legal Forms: DISTRICT CLERK Forms Library for Fort Bend County

Select from legal forms using this free forms library from the Fort Bend County District Clerk's Office, including Counsel in Death Penalty Cases, Civil/Family, Subpeona, Administrative Services Requests, and Board of District Judges Approved Forms regarding Bail, Minor Funds and Sealed Records.

View Resource
A balance scale with a gavel in front of it. The title, "2023-2024 Referral Directory: Legal Services and Other Resources for Low-Income Texans" appears at the top right of the image.

Legal Services and Other Resources for Low-income Texans: Referral Directory

This resource lists free and reduced-cost legal services. These include: legal resources related to civil matters that are available statewide, legal resources related to civil matters by county, legal and other resources relating to criminal matters, lawyer referral services (which may be full fee or reduced fee), and an introduction to pro se (or self-help) resources.

Previously available in print, this directory is now freely available online, and is published by the Legal Access Division of the State Bar of Texas.

View Resource
Gale Legal Forms

LegalForms (Gale)

Texshare logo

This database has an extensive collection of free forms available to library patrons. Thousands of legal forms are already available, and more are being added daily. Official, state-specific, Federal, business, personal, real estate, and general forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues are included.
Warning: Public users should consult an attorney in your state for serious legal matters. This resource is not a replacement for the advice of an attorney. Library staff cannot give legal advice or recommend specific forms.

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
Lexis Advance Logo

Lexis Advance 

AVAILABLE ONLY AT LAW LIBRARY 
A simple-to-use, powerful resource for online legal research. Visit the library for access to State and Federal case law, statutes, codes, regulations, forms, and secondary material.

LexisNexis

LexisNexis Digital Library

Access Lexis Advance collections digitally on any device using your permanent Fort Bend County Libraries card or an eCard. From within the library, link from eBooks to cases or statutes on Lexis Advance. Annotate and highlight within your eBook.

View Resource
Libby by Overdrive

Libby by OverDrive

Borrow ebooks, audiobooks, and magazines to read on your phone or tablet using the Libby by OverDrive app. You can even send and read your borrowed ebooks to your Kindle ereader (U.S. only)! It’s free and easy for new users to get started, and it's a streamlined experience for current OverDrive app users.

The Libby by OverDrive app is now available from the Amazon Appstore and can be downloaded to Amazon Fire Tablets.

Please sign into the Libby by OverDrive app or website to see your current holds.

  • Learn more about how to switch from the OverDrive app to the Libby by OverDrive app here.  
  • Find answers to your questions here.
  • Watch a short video tutorial on how to download the Libby by OverDrive app here.
  • Watch a video tutorial on how to borrow and place holds using Libby by OverDrive here
  • Libby/OverDrive FAQ

 

View Resource
The Lincoln Library logo

Lincoln Library Biography and History Collection

These six databases provide biographical information on sports champions, Greek and Roman mythological figures, men and women who shaped the world, important people and events in American history, and biographies of people around the world. All six databases can be searched at the same time. 

View Resource (Inside the Library) View Resource (Outside the Library)
LinkedIn Learning Logo

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning for Library hosts over 16,000 courses designed to help you gain professional skills. Whether you want to get better at your current job, explore new skills to grow professionally, or improve your job hunting, LinkedIn Learning has something for you!

LinkedIn Learning may be accessed through your browser, and is also available as an app for Android and Apple devices. If asked for a Library ID, please use: fortbendcountylibraries and then type in your library card number (with no spaces) and your library account PIN/password.

To learn more about LinkedIn Learning, view our video playlist on YouTube here.

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
Gale LCO

Literature Criticism Online (Gale)

Texshare logo

Gale™ takes literature, history and culture to the next level with the largest, most extensive compilation of literary commentary available: Literature Criticism Online. Includes centuries of analysis - the scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals - delivered in an easy-to-use 24/7 online format that matches the exact look and feel of the print originals. click here to retrieve title list

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center (Gale)

Texshare logo

In addition to critical analysis, primary sources, and detailed work overviews, this database brings together in-depth biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information. There are more than 165,000 complete entries from popular literature series, including two award-winning series, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors and Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource
Gale Literature LitFinder

LitFinder: Gale Literature

Texshare logo

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

Not in Library:  Enter your library card number (no spaces.)

View Resource